skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   3 September [1868]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Sept. 3d

My dear Sir

We have returned from the Isle of Wight2 & I am able to resume my work. I shd., therefore, be very much obliged if you would be so kind as to send me any information which you may have got, on the first plumage of Fowls, which I require for my immediate object.3 In reference to number of sexes in various domestic animals I can wait a little longer, if more convenient to you.—4

I hope that you & your family are all well.—

Pray believe me | My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letters to W. B. Tegetmeier, 23 April [1868] and 26 May 1868.
The Darwins returned from the Isle of Wight on 21 August 1868 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
For CD’s queries to Tegetmeier regarding the first plumage of fowls, see the letters to W. B. Tegetmeier, 20 May [1868] and 22 May [1868]; CD included an explanation of his interest in the topic in his letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 26 May 1868. See also letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 25 May 1868.


Would like information on the first plumage of poultry.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6347,” accessed on 12 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16