skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   17 [August 1868]



My dear Hooker

It has occurred to me that you might write here, so I send a line to say that we return to Down on Thursday next.—

We did all so thoroughily enjoy your visit here. Mrs. Cameron has been jollier & kinder than ever, & she seemed so pleased when I told her that you had been pleased with her.— Your Photograph looks grand.—1

I have just heard that Prof. Victor Carus will be at Norwich.— He translated 2d. edit of Origin & my last book.— When you speak & puff the foreign edit. of Origin, would it do to say that they were were translated by two distinguished naturalists, by Prof. Bronn & Victor Carus.—2

Ever yours | C. Darwin


Julia Margaret Cameron owned the house in which the Darwins were staying. Hooker had visited from 8 to 14 August (letter from J. D. Hooker, 6 August 1868, and letter to Asa Gray, 15 August [1868]). For Cameron’s photograph of Hooker, see plate facing p. 630.
Julius Victor Carus revised Heinrich Georg Bronn’s German translation of Origin (Bronn trans. 1863, Bronn and Carus trans. 1867); this was the third German edition, based on the English fourth edition. Bronn also translated Variation (Carus trans. 1868). See letter from J. V. Carus, 14 August 1868. Hooker did not mention Bronn or Carus in his presidential address at the meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science in Norwich (J. D. Hooker 1868).


Hooker, Joseph Dalton. 1868. Address of the president. Report of the thirty-eighth meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, held at Norwich, pp. lviii–lxxv.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Enjoyed JDH’s visit.

Mrs Cameron’s photograph of JDH is grand.

Has heard J. V. Carus will be at Norwich. Suggests JDH mention that Origin was translated by two distinguished naturalists, H. G. Bronn and Carus.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 94: 83–4
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6321,” accessed on 5 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16