skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. V. Carus   14 August 1868

61, Grosvenor Street, W | London

Aug 14th. 1868.

My dear Sir,

On my way from Oxford to Norwich I am stopping a few days in town   Shall I find you on Sunday without troubling you? I should be sorry if I was to leave England without having seen and thanked you personally for the great kindness you showed me during the last year.1

One line to the above place would oblige me exceedingly. If not Sunday I could only come on Tuesday next.

I remain | My dear Sir | Yours most sincerely | Prof J. Victor Carus

CD annotations

End of letter: ‘Mrs Cameron’2


Carus was on his way to the British Association meeting at Norwich, which took place from 19 to 26 August 1868 (Report of the 38th meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, p. lvii). During 1867 and early 1868, Carus had been working on the German translations of the fourth edition of Origin and Variation (Bronn and Carus trans. 1867, Carus trans. 1868; see Correspondence vol. 15).
The Darwins were staying at Julia Margaret Cameron’s house at Freshwater on the Isle of Wight.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Asks whether it would be convenient if he came to Down. JVC would be sorry to leave England without seeing and thanking CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
Julius Victor Carus
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Grosvenor St, 61
Source of text
DAR 161: 68
Physical description
ALS 2pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6315,” accessed on 7 December 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16