skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. M. Cameron   10 July 1868

Fresh Water Bay. | Isle of Wight

July 10th. 68

My Dear Mr. Darwin

I observe with some shame that I forgot to answer one question in your note1   I answered by return Post in a tremendous hurry, because yr. letter arrived on the day of the opening of our Fresh Water Reading Room & as I had under taken the establishing of the Room I could not let it fail for want of every moment I could give to it— hence the hurry & I am sure you will excuse it

We shall be delighted that you should extend your stay here a week— We must only ask you as soon as you can decide this point to let us know because in the season months there is such a demand at Fresh Water for the few Houses that are at all comfortable & good that I am sure you would not like us for the sake of one uncertain week to lose a Tenant for one or two months if offered. Still less should we like to hurry or anticipate your departure by a day—

We only ask to know, as soon as your experience of the place enables you to decide also on what day would you like the Inventory taken   our day will be yr. day—whenever you appoint a person & time—

We are looking forward with pleasure to your coming & Fresh Water is wearing all its smiles this year—but the emerald green of the Island is getting brown, burnt up with the sun.

Your’s truly | Julia Margaret Cameron

July 10th. 1868

Fresh Water Bay | Isle of Wight—


See letter from J. M. Cameron, [before 10 July 1868]. CD’s letter to Cameron has not been found.


More on the rental by the Darwins of a house at Freshwater Bay.

Letter details

Letter no.
Julia Margaret Cameron
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 161: 9
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6271,” accessed on 17 October 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16