skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Julia Margaret Cameron   [before 10 July 1868]1

My dear Mr. Darwin

My Bromley people rejoice for us in your coming to be our Neighbors & friends as we hope—2

A hurried answer I send to your note—3

We have in occasional use a person of the highest respectability & usefulness who acts as House Maid or House Keeper a general help— We give her a shilling a day & food— We could ask her to keep disengaged for you to try her if you want help— We have said nothing abt. our gardener   our last Tenant Lady Manners paid 14/ a week to our gardener but if you like to have our gardener for half the time & pay 7/ we will pay the other 7/s thus yr. garden & lawn will be his care4

To day is a great & busy day in this place yet I write this word rather than delay yr. answer tho I was up till past midnight at work & still have much to do to be ready to open our first Reading Room at Fresh Water at 1 PM.

Yours truly | Julia M. Cameron

Our Tenants bring their own Plate & Linen


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. M. Cameron, 10 July 1868.
The ‘Bromley people’ have not been identified. The Darwin family spent from 17 July to 20 August at Freshwater on the Isle of Wight.
CD’s letter to Cameron has not been found.
The maid has not been indentified. Cameron’s gardener was Charles Gilbert (Julia Margeret Cameron Trust, Isle of Wight, personal communication). Lady Manners was probably Janetta Manners.


On the rental by the Darwins of a house at Freshwater Bay, Isle of Wight.

Letter details

Letter no.
Julia Margaret Cameron
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 161: 8
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6270,” accessed on 15 October 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16