skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Henry Baker Tristram   6 June 1868

Greatham Vicarage | Stockton on Tees

6 June 1868

Dear Sir

I am much interested by your enquiries, & shall have great pleasure in answering them to the best of my ability.1 But I am from home for three weeks to come on clerical duty, & have not an opportunity of referring to books or specimens, without which I cannot reply satisfactorily.

I trust therefore it will not inconvenience you, if I do not reply until the end of the month, when I hope to return home—

I am glad to have the opportunity of thanking you for your unexpected kindness in putting your name to my certificate for the Royal Society.2

I am | Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | H. B. Tristram

Charles Darwin Esqre.


CD’s queries have not been found; they related to sexual differences in the coloration of birds. Tristam’s answers are in his letter to CD of 1 July 1868.
Tristram was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of London on 4 June 1868 (Record of the Royal Society of London, p. 482).


Record of the Royal Society of London: The record of the Royal Society of London for the promotion of natural knowledge. 4th edition. London: Royal Society. 1940.


Will answer CD’s queries when he returns home in a month.

Letter details

Letter no.
Henry Baker Tristram
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 178: 193
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6234,” accessed on 19 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16