skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Murray   27 May [1868]1

50A. Albemarle St. | W.

May 27

My Dear Sir

I shall be very glad to be allowed to see Miss Wedgewoods MS Life of Wesley & promise to give it every attention with the hope that I may be of use to her—2

The Sportsman in Canada by Maj Ross King was published by Hurst & Blackett—3

The copy of your work for your friend Prof Canestrini at Modena was sent as directed by you to care of Williams & Norgate who handed it over to Dulau of Soho Square for enclosure

If Profr Canestrini will enquire of N Zamicheli & Son Modena, whether they have received a parcel from Dulau lately—it will probably be discovered—4

The Clichés of Mullers work have arrived & are safely deposited pro. tem. in my warehouse—5 I will announce in my next Quarterly List

I am My Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | John Murray

Chas Darwin Esq

CD annotations

0.3 My … her— 1.2] enclosed in square brackets, pencil


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to John Murray, 25 May 1868.
See letter to John Murray, 25 May 1868 and n. 1. Murray refers to Frances Julia Wedgwood and John Wesley.
Murray refers to William Ross King and King 1866; see letter to John Murray, 25 May 1868 and n. 3.
CD’s instructions regarding the sending of a copy of Variation to Giovanni Canestrini were evidently in his missing letter to Murray (see letter to John Murray, 25 May 1868 and n. 2). Canestrini’s name appears on CD’s presentation list for Variation (see Correspondence vol. 16, Appendix IV). See also letter from Giovanni Canestrini, 14 May 1868. Williams & Norgate and Dulau & Co. were booksellers with London offices; Dulau & Co. specialised in foreign books. Nicola Zanichelli published the first Italian translation of Origin in Modena in 1864.
Murray refers to William Sweetland Dallas’s translation of Fritz Müller’s Für Darwin (F. Müller 1864; Dallas trans. 1869). See letter to John Murray, 25 May 1868 and n. 3.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Will be glad to see Miss Wedgwood’s MS on Wesley.

The clichés of Fritz Müller’s work [Für Darwin] have arrived.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171: 359
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6212,” accessed on 24 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16