skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. D. Fox    [12 April 1829]


My dear Fox

I received your letter yesterday morning, & it was with the most sincere grief I read its contents: I am well aware how illtimed all consolation must at present appear. But yet knowing how very unhappy you must be at your sisters most alarming illness; I cannot help troubling you with these few lines, if it were merely to thank you for writing to me: I should indeed be sorry, if anybody, for whom I have such a strong friendship & respect as I must always feel, my dear Fox, for you, should be suffering under the most poignant grief, & I not aware of it.—

I most fervently hope, by the time this letter reaches Clifton, that your sister will be better. When you have a spare moment do write to me & tell me how she is going on.—

I wrote to you at Bath only the day before I received your last letter, but little did I think, when I wrote it, that it would find you in such a melancholy situation

Believe me my dear Fox | Yours most affectionately | Charles Darwin *S 2



CD writes with much sympathy for WDF, whose sister [Mrs Bristowe] is alarmingly ill.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Darwin Fox
Sent from
Cambridge AP 14 1829
Source of text
Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 13)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 62,” accessed on 24 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1