skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Henry Holland   20 April [1868]1

72 Brook Street

April 20th

My dear Charles

The little volume I send you—(one of some twenty copies printed) was drawn from me by the solicitation of my Children; frequently [renewed] but never till lately acceded to.2

Finding that a mere Manuscript would not suffice for the many family demands upon me, I have put it into this form; reserving half a dozen copies for as many old friends; who may be interested in the narrative for my sake— But do not consider yourself in any way pledged to read it through. The exceptions I have thought it needful to make, leave the narrative a dull one, save to my Children & Grandchildren, for whom it is chiefly intended.

I send this note, & the book, through Erasmus;3 that he may look at it, if he wishes, before transmitting it to you

I hope you like Lewes’ articles on your volumes.4 I think them excellent   I had a good deal of conversation with him on the subject, before they were written

Ever my dear Charles, yours affecty | H Holland


The year is established by the reference to Holland 1868 (see n. 2, below).
Holland refers to Recollections of past life (Holland 1868). CD’s copy is in the Darwin Library–Down.
Erasmus Alvey Darwin.
Holland refers to George Henry Lewes and to Lewes’s review of Variation which appeared in the Pall Mall Gazette on 10, 15, and 17 February 1868 ([Lewes] 1868a).


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Sends CD a copy of a book he has had printed mainly for the interest of his children and grandchildren [later published as Recollections of past life (1872)].

Letter details

Letter no.
Henry Holland
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Brook St, 72
Source of text
DAR 166: 250
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6131,” accessed on 8 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16