skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Alfred Wrigley   [after 12 March 1868]1

I hope you will ex my writing thus again.2 Horace has never said or hinted it to me restQQQQ assuredQQQQ that you had hurt his feelings in any way;3 on the contrary I remember that he distinctly said that you had been very kind in attending to him & had brought him on much in studyingQQQQ.— I do not QQQQ QQQQ understand for his disposition is rather reserved & peculiarQQQQ why he wishes to leave school; but the wish has been persistent & I have always followed, hitherto with QQQQ my sons wishes. I freely own I have always felt doubtful about a private tutor for him— And this leads me to add, that I remember making a similar remark together with the 2 other sentences quoted before, in my letter to you, which no doubt was lost by the post-off. Mrs D. also believes that she remembers my writing shortly before the Boys return.—4 I hope that you will believe that I did write for it wd have been an unpardonable ruderyQQQQ not to have written a second note, in additionQQQQ to that which you enclosed earlierQQQQ,5 before removing my son— This note requires no acknowledgment & is written only for my own satisfaction


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Alfred Wrigley, 12 March 1868.
See letter from Alfred Wrigley, 12 March 1868. CD refers to Horace Darwin.
CD evidently refers to the return of Leonard and Horace Darwin from Clapham Grammar School for the Christmas holiday in 1867.


Assures AW he has not hurt Horace’s feelings. CD has always been doubtful about a private tutor for Horace. Fears a letter [giving notice of removal] was lost in the post.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Alfred Wrigley
Sent from
London, Chester Place, 4
Source of text
DAR 181: 182v
Physical description
Adraft 1p (on 6006)

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6008,” accessed on 25 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16