skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   5 March [1868]1

High field Villa | Southampton

March 5.

My dear Father,

I have received your note and cheque,2 also box containing skull and am much obliged.

I will shew Sanford the memorandum about the two sets of muscles.3

I had a talk with Langstaff last night: he talked of it as well ascertained that the lachrymal glands hardly secrete at all till after the first fortnight.4

We also had a jaw about crying & squalling, when I have had another I will tell you what he says, if it comes to anything.

You see my address is Highfield, I have taken lodgings here, it is nearly the top of the Common &

CD annotations

1.1 I have … muscles. 2.1] crossed pencil
3.1 he talked … fortnight. 3.2] triple scored pencil
4.1 We also … Common & 5.2] crossed pencil
Top of letter: ‘Expression’ pencil
End of letter:
req 29


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. E. Darwin to Emma Darwin, 28 February [1868].
CD’s letter to William has not been found. William had purchased some furniture on CD’s behalf (see letter from W. E. Darwin to Emma Darwin, 28 February [1868] and n. 6).
See letter from W. E. Darwin to Emma Darwin, 28 February [1868] and n. 5. The memorandum has not been found. Sanford has not been identified.
CD cited information from the Southampton surgeon Charles Langstaff on the movements of the eye muscles and other facial features associated with weeping in Expression, pp. 148, 152.


Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Crying in babies.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 162: 87
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5981,” accessed on 1 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16