skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   3 March [1868]1


March 3.

My dear Father,

If you go to the Jermyn St Museum, I should be much obliged if you would ask the porter for the box containing the skull & bones belonging to Mr Cumberbatch, & get William to make the box up safe & send it to me by rail as Mr C. has asked me for it; if you do not go could you [send] William to get it.2 I unfortunately utterly forgot it when passing thro’.

I hope you are well enough to find London pleasant.

Your affect son | W E Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. E. Darwin, 5 March [1868] (Correspondence vol. 16).
The Museum of Practical Geology was in Jermyn Street, London (Reeks 1920, p. vii). Mr Cumberbatch has not been identified. William Pettit was the butler of CD’s brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin; CD stayed with Erasmus from 3 to 10 March 1868 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).


Reeks, Margaret. 1920. Register of the associates and old students of the Royal School of Mines and history of the Royal School of Mines. 2 vols. London: Royal School of Mines (Old Students’) Association.


Asks CD to collect from the Jermyn Street Museum a box containing a skull and bones which belong to Mr Cumberbatch.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 35)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5970F,” accessed on 4 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24 (Supplement)