skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From St G. J. Mivart   [25 June 1870?]1

7 North Bank | N.W.

Saturday— 3. p.m.

My dear Sir,

I have just got your note & hasten to say I shall be very pleased to see you at, or after, half past nine tomorrow—2 by that my breakfast, church &c will be over & I shall have my whole morning at your disposal—

You need not fear causing me any inconvenience as had I not heard from you I should have been at home from 912 a.m till 1. p.m tomorrow— So that whatever time happens to suit you, between those hours, will be equally convenient to me.

I am very sorry to hear the cause which makes your movements uncertain and at any time you wish to see me I shall be very pleased to call upon you if that will be more convenient.3

Believe me | Dear Sir | Your’s very truly | St G Mivart.


The date is conjectured from the broad mourning border of the stationery and the relationship between this letter and the letter from G. G. Gascoyen, 7 July 1870 (Correspondence vol. 18). Mivart’s mother, Caroline Georgina Mivart, died in the first quarter of 1870 (BMD (Death index)). CD was in London from 24 June to 1 July 1870 (see Correspondence vol. 18, Appendix II). CD probably asked Mivart for information on the platysma muscle when the two met; Mivart then asked George Green Gascoyen to supply information for CD, which Gascoyen did after making observations for a week. The only Sunday during CD’s visit was 26 June.
CD’s note has not been found.
CD probably told Mivart that his movements were uncertain because of his health. In May 1870 he had written that a tour of the Woodwardian Museum in Cambridge left him exhausted for days (see Correspondence vol. 18, letter to J. D. Hooker, 25 May [1870]).


Sets a time for CD to call.

Letter details

Letter no.
St George Jackson Mivart
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, North Bank, 7
Source of text
DAR 171: 181
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5927,” accessed on 6 March 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24 (Supplement)