skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Jean Jacques Moulinié   22 February [1868]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Feb. 22nd.

Dear Sir

I send by this Post some sheets of second Edit. with all the few passages marked (except the errata already printed), & will you be so kind as to give any of these corrections, as errata, which may seem to you of any importance.—2

You will be able to insert most of the corrections & additions in Vol. 2.—

Will you kindly attend to addition given at p. 396 Vol I. & insert it, as indicated, as a footnote to Vol. 2.—3

I should esteem it a kindness if you would inform me as soon as you have corrected all the sheets, a few days before the publication of my Book.—

With sincere respect & thanks for the honour which you have done me by undertaking this Translation, I remain | Dear Sir | Yours faithfully & obliged | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the reference to the French edition of Variation (Moulinié trans. 1868).
Both volumes of the French edition (Moulinié trans. 1868) carried a page of errata.
See letter to J. V. Carus, 22 February [1868] and n. 3. This information appeared in the main body of the text in the French edition, the first volume of which was published in March (see Moulinié trans. 1868, 1: 419–20, and letter from C.-F. Reinwald, 26 March 1868).


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Sends corrections [for French edition of Variation].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Jean Jacques Moulinié
Sent from
Source of text
Bibliothèque de Genève
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5913,” accessed on 11 December 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16