skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Murray   12 February [1868]1

50A, Albemarle St. | W.

Feby 12

My Dear Sir

Your letter of Feby 9 encourages me to push on the new Edition of the Variation—2 You shall, as a matter of course, have some presentation copies.3

In answer to your enquiry, I may tell you that the corrections on the 1st Edition amounted to £176.—4

I have written to Mr Dallas assuring him of your approval of the Index & enclosing him a cheque for 30 Guineas, wch as Indices go, is handsome pay—5

You will have seen, I dare say the first notice of you in the Pall Mall Gaz. of Monday—6 it is written in no unfriendly spirit   As an opening criticism it may be taken as a good augury of the probable reception of the work. Meanwhile the public are very eager for it

I remain My Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | John Murray

Chas Darwin Esq


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to John Murray, 9 February [1868].
For CD’s presentation list for the second printing of Variation, see Correspondence vol. 16, Appendix IV.
The first part of a three-part review of Variation appeared in the Pall Mall Gazette for 10 February 1868 ([Lewes] 1868a). See letter to J. D. Hooker, 10 February [1868] and n. 3.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


CD’s letter encourages Murray to proceed with a new edition of Variation; corrections will cost £176.

First notice has appeared in Pall Mall Gazette [7 (1868): 555].

Letter details

Letter no.
John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171 : 355
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5869,” accessed on 8 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16