skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Roland Trimen   24 December [1867]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Dec. 24th

My dear Sir

If you are not engaged, will you give me the great pleasure of your company here next Saturday, & stay the Sunday with us. We dine at 7 oclock.—2

You would have to come by Train to Bromley, but I am sorry to say this place is six miles from the Station.

I am bound to tell you that my health is very uncertain & I am continually liable to bad days, & even on my best days I cannot talk long with anyone; but if you will put up with the best will to see as much of you as I can, I hope that you will come.—

Pray believe me, | my dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the fact that Trimen visited CD at Down at the end of 1867 (see Poulton 1909, p. 28 n. 2). See also n. 2, below.
Trimen, who lived in South Africa, was in London in late 1867 to work on a paper about mimicry in African butterflies (Trimen 1868; see Poulton 1920, p. xxiv). For CD’s letters to Trimen between 1863 and 1871, and a commentary on their relationship, see Poulton 1909, pp. 213–46.


Poulton, Edward Bagnall. 1909. Charles Darwin and the origin of species. Addresses, etc., in America and England in the year of the two anniversaries. London: Longmans, Green & Co.

Poulton, Edward Bagnall. 1920. Roland Trimen, 1840–1916. Proceedings of the Royal Society of London, Series B 91: xviii–xxvii.

Trimen, Roland. 1868. On some remarkable mimetic analogies among African butterflies. [Read 5 March 1868.] Transactions of the Linnean Society of London 26 (1868–70): 497–522.


Invites RT to come to Down for a week-end.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Roland Trimen
Sent from
Source of text
Royal Entomological Society (Trimen papers, box 21: 61)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5739,” accessed on 8 December 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15