skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   [23 December 1867?]1

Royal Gardens Kew


Dear Darwin

I am disgusted with myself for leaving the tin box in the Dog Cart   pray send it by Willy—2 the plants will keep well enough—3

Ever Yrs | J D Hooker

Also I left a shirt!


The date is conjectured on the basis of the letter’s position in the Darwin Archive–CUL and its references to a visit by Hooker to Down. Hooker visited Down on Saturday 21 December 1867 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242) for 21 December 1867 records, ‘Dr Hooker Wm.’; ‘Wm’ could refer to William Erasmus Darwin or to Hooker’s son William Henslow Hooker, known as ‘Willy’ (see, for example, letter from J. D. Hooker, 13 April 1867). Hooker also referred to W. E. Darwin as ‘Willy’ (see, for example, letter from J. D. Hooker, 26 [and 27] March 1867).
CD sometimes had plant specimens sent packed in tin boxes lined with damp moss or paper for preservation during transport (see, for example, Correspondence vol. 9, letter to J. D. Hooker, 17 [July 1861], and letter to D. F. Nevill, 12 November [1861]).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Left his box of plants in dog-cart [on his visit to Down].

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 102: 197
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5738,” accessed on 15 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15