skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   22 November [1867]1


Nov 22

My Dear Father,

Thank you very much for your letter & the other £100 which I do not deserve & did not expect.2 I think I may pretty positively say that when next I have two or three hundred to invest, and for the future I shall choose some sound 4 or 5 perCent. thing without any speculation in it; though now one would rather avoid railways investing is a great puzzle. Mama says you are to be in London on Sunday Dec 1st.. I hope to come up for the Sunday & Monday.3

I am very glad to hear Woolner is coming at last, tho’ I dare say the thoughts of the nuisance make you curse a trifle.4

Your affect son | W. E. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to W. E. Darwin, 20 November [1867] (Correspondence vol. 15).
See Correspondence vol. 15, letter to W. E. Darwin 20 November [1867] and n. 2. William received twice the amount he had asked for in his letter of 19 November 1867 (this volume, Supplement).
The Darwins visited London from 28 November to 7 December 1867 (Correspondence vol. 15, Appendix II).
Thomas Woolner planned to visit Down in December 1867 to make a bust of CD (Correspondence vol. 15, letter to W. E. Darwin, 20 November [1867]).


Thanks CD for £200 and discusses meeting in London at the beginning of December.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 26)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5692F,” accessed on 3 November 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24 (Supplement)