skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   [20 September 1867]1



Dear D.

We shall be delighted to see you Sunday or Monday or Tuesday either—& I am sure to be in at 10 am— there will be lunch at 1 pm & you can stay or no as you like.2

I left my Mother better at Norwich last Monday but I fear permanently invalided, as the seat of her malady is not clear.3

Hoping to see you Sunday Monday or, (or and) Tuesday

Ever yr aff | J D Hooker

I felt so above suspicion, that I am not in the least elated at your having found that I had not mislaid yr Adam Bede.4


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. D. Hooker, [14 September 1867], and by the dates of CD’s visit to London (see n. 2, below). The Friday following 14 September 1867 was 20 September.
According to CD’s ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 15, Appendix II), he was in London from 18 to 24 September 1867.
Hooker’s mother, Maria Hooker, had suffered an attack diagnosed as peritonitis and enteritis (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 31 August 1867).
Hooker refers to Eliot 1859. CD evidently found his copy, which he had lent to Hooker in 1865, at his brother Erasmus Alvey Darwin’s house (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 30 July [1867] and n. 3).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Eliot, George. 1859. Adam Bede. 3 vols. Edinburgh: William Blackwood.


Would be delighted to see CD at Kew.

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 102: 179
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5631,” accessed on 4 October 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15