skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Charles Maclaren to Thomas Walker   30 March 1840

Scotsman Office

30 March | 1840


I have a letter from Mr Charles Darwin Naturalist to the late expedition to the Southern hemisphere stating that he has felt great interest in Mr Kemps notice of Terraces on the Eildon Hills and desiring me to procure him Mr Kemps Address that he may send him a copy of his paper on Glenroy and put some queries to him.1 Not knowing whether Mr Kemp resides in Galashiels I send this note to you. Will you be so good as furnish him with Mr Kemps Address. Mr Darwin resides at No 12 Upper Gower Street London.

Let me know if the Galashiels Society has a copy of my Geoly of Fife and the Lothians.2 If not I shall be glad to send them a copy.

I am Sir | Your Most Ob Servant | Cha Maclaren


CD’s letter to Maclaren has not been found; Maclaren refers to CD’s travels on the Beagle from 1831 to 1836 (see Correspondence vol. 1). The 15 February 1840 issue of the Scotsman contained a report of an essay read by William Kemp to the Galashiels Geological Society, in which Kemp described how CD’s Glen Roy theory had encouraged him to look for similar terraces. See Correspondence vol.2, letter to Charles Lyell, [19 February 1840] and n. 1. CD’s paper was ‘Parallel roads of Glen Roy’. The Eildon Hills are in Melrose, Scotland.


Maclaren, Charles. 1839. A sketch of the geology of Fife and the Lothians, including detailed descriptions of Arthur’s Seat and Pentland Hills. Edinburgh and London: Adam and Charles Black.


CD has asked CM whether he can supply William Kemp’s address, and CM passes the enquiry to TW.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Maclaren
Thomas Walker
Sent from
Scotsman office, Edinburgh
Source of text
Cambridge University Library (MS Add. 10252/1) (gift of Ruth Cramond and David Cramond)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 562G,” accessed on 6 December 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18 (Supplement)