skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Andrew Murray   16 September 1867

Duncrivie | By Milnathort

16 Sept 1867

My dear Sir

Your letter has been forwarded to me here, where I am luxuriating in draughts of Native air.—1

I am truly obliged by your sending me the Italian Memoirs—the more that it is a token that you mean to take an interest in the New Journal.—2 I shall look at them when I return to town (next week)—and if they seem suitable will get them reviewed by a Competent Italian Scholar. My Italian goes very much upon Crutches.—

I launched the Journal at the Meeting of the British Association at Dundee—that is—made known the prospectus on the other side and I think the general opinion so far as it reached me was in favour of it.—3 Of course I am not a very good judge, as I would be the last to hear anything depreciatory.—

I have still room for one or two occasional contributors & if you know any qualified persons who would be content with a remuneration of 8£ per sheet for original articles & £5 for reviews send them to me.—

With many thanks I am | Yours very truly | Andw. Murray


CD’s letter has not been found. Murray had attended the annual meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science held at Dundee from 4 to 11 September 1867 (Report of the thirty-seventh meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, held at Dundee, p. lxxiii). Duncrievie is a village near Milnathort, a town about twenty-five miles north-east of Stirling (Bartholomew 1943).
Murray had asked CD for advice on the journal he was starting up (see letter from Andrew Murray, 12 August 1867 and n. 1). CD sent the papers he had recently received from Federico Delpino (Delpino 1867a and 1867b; see letter from Federico Delpino, 5 September 1867 and n. 2, and letter from Andrew Murray, 13 December 1867). An article by Murray on Delpino 1867b appeared in the third number of the Journal of Travel and Natural History (A. Murray 1868).
Murray wrote his letter on a blank page on the back of the leaflet advertising the Journal of Travel and Natural History.


Bartholomew, John. 1943. The survey gazetteer of the British Isles: including summary of 1931 census and reference atlas. 9th edition. Edinburgh: John Bartholomew & Son.


AM discusses his new journal [J. Travel & Nat. Hist.] of which general opinion seems to be favourable. Has room for the occasional contributor, if CD knows of any.

Letter details

Letter no.
Andrew Dickson (Andrew) Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 171: 329
Physical description
ALS 2pp, encl 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5629,” accessed on 16 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15