skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   30 July [1867]1


July 30th.

Dear Darwin

I hope to leave by the Victoria Train at 4.30. pm for Bromley on Saturday & shall be very glad to bring a boy with me.2

Indeed—Indeed I did return Adam Bede 2 years ago, I think that my wife took it with her to town to Q. Anne St. when you were there. You had asked me for it— if I remember right— —3

I wish you would return me “Tylor’s early History of mankind” & my own copy of my “Himalaya Journals” with my own mss notes!—both of which I have lent ie. lost.4

Lyell was here yesterday very well & full of some “Insular” difficulty, that he is to propound to me.5

Ever yrs affec | J D Hooker

Pray remember there is no occasion to send a carriage— I can always get a fly if I should not prefer the walk.


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to J. D. Hooker, 29 July [1867].
Hooker had read Adam Bede (Eliot 1859) by April 1860; see Correspondence vol. 8, letter to J. D. Hooker, 18 [April 1860]. CD and Hooker also read and discussed several novels by George Eliot in 1865 (see Correspondence vol. 13). Hooker’s wife was Frances Harriet Hooker; CD often visited his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin, at his house in Queen Anne Street, London.
Hooker refers to Tylor 1865 and J. D. Hooker 1854. CD and Hooker read and discussed Edward Burnett Tylor’s book in 1865 (see Correspondence vol. 13); CD cited it in Variation 2: 122 n. 22. CD cited J. D. Hooker 1854 in Variation 1: 259 n. 67, 307 n. 5, 356 n. 129.
Charles Lyell included a chapter on insular floras (chapter 41) in the second volume of the tenth edition of his Principles of geology (C. Lyell 1867–8, 2: 402–32); he referred to Hooker’s recent article on insular floras (J. D. Hooker 1866a; see C. Lyell 1867–8, 2: 419).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Eliot, George. 1859. Adam Bede. 3 vols. Edinburgh: William Blackwood.

Lyell, Charles. 1867–8. Principles of geology or the modern changes of the earth and its inhabitants considered as illustrative of geology. 10th edition. 2 vols. London: John Murray.

Tylor, Edward Burnett. 1865. Researches into the early history of mankind and the development of civilization. London: John Murray.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Plans to come to Down on Saturday.

Returned Adam Bede two years ago.

Wishes CD would return Tylor’s Early history of mankind

and his own Himalayan journal with his notes, "both of which I have lent, i.e., lost".

Lyell well and full of "Insular" difficulties which he will propound.

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 102: 172–3
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5588,” accessed on 4 October 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15