skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Edward Blyth   [19 February 1867]1

6 Queen Anne St | W.


My dear Mr Blyth

I am so unwell today that there is hardly any chance of my being able to meet you tomorrow morning at the Zoolog. gardens, so will you be so good as to consider my former note cancelled & excuse the trouble I have caused you—2

If able to do any thing tomorrow I have some other more pressing engagements which I have failed to do today.

I shall be in London probably in a few months’ time,3 & I hope you will allow me to propose another meeting at the gardens.

yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter, the letter to Edward Blyth, [18 February 1867], and the letter from Edward Blyth, 19 February 1867.
See letter to Edward Blyth, [18 February 1867]. Emma Darwin recorded in her diary (DAR 242) for 18 and 19 February: ‘C. unwell’.
CD left London on 21 February 1867. He returned for a visit in June 1867. See CD’s ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 15, Appendix II).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Is so unwell he must cancel appointment to meet at Zoological Gardens.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Edward Blyth
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
McGill University Library, Department of Rare Books
Physical description
LS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5407,” accessed on 6 February 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15