skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From E. A. Darwin   17 [July 1867]1


Dear Charles

I dont know if Mr Salt has written to you about Wynne.2 He suggests that some sum should be paid him out of the purchase money of the Mount. I dont see what it has to do with the purchase money which is treating it as if it were Susans Estate, but such of us as liked might subscribe.3 I for one should be willing to subscribe £10 annually, & perhaps you may as well pass this on to Caroline to see what she says and give me your ideas if you have any. Salt says that WED & the Parkers have been giving him 10/- weekly.4

I send you the Deed for Sigr by this post

Yours affec. | E. D


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Salt & Sons, 17 July 1867.
The reference is to either George Moultrie Salt or William Salt of Salt & Sons, and to George Wynne, the former gardener at The Mount, Shrewsbury. See letter from Salt & Sons, 17 July 1867.
Francis Parker had suggested paying Wynne out of the purchase price of The Mount, where Susan Elizabeth Darwin, CD and Erasmus’s sister, had lived until her death in October 1866 (see letter from Salt & Sons, 17 July 1867). Robert Waring Darwin had left a share in The Mount to each of his children, with the proviso that his unmarried daughters should be permitted to live there (Will of Robert Waring Darwin, 27 September 1845, Department of Manuscripts and Records, National Library of Wales).
Erasmus refers to his and CD’s sister, Caroline Sarah Wedgwood, to CD’s son William Erasmus Darwin, and probably to Henry Parker (1827/8–92) and Francis Parker, the executors of Susan’s will.


Wynne [gardener] suggests he should be paid from the money from the sale of the Mount, but EAD suggests an annual subscription instead.

Letter details

Letter no.
Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 105: B55
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5369,” accessed on 7 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15