skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   28 [December 1866]1



My dear Hooker

Many thanks for the Revue Horticle,2 which I return by this Post.—

I had a long & very pleasant letter from Sulivan3 this morning & he is in somewhat better health.— He has been collecting fossil leaves in Eocene(?) beds at Bournemouth & has got, as he believes new forms.— Mr Mitchell from British Assoc. has first pick & he offers me others & then recollecting that they wd be of no use to me, offers them to you.—4 Now when you write say whether you wd like to have them for yourself or Heer,5 & whether he shall send them to Kew. I will not write to Sulivan till I have a line from you.— The Athenæum has been admitting letters urging Publishers to sell their Books cut & I have, like an ass, sent a long letter, which they will perhaps insert.—6

Yours affecty | C. Darwin


The month and year are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from B. J. Sulivan, 25 December 1866.
Bartholomew James Sulivan (see letter from B. J. Sulivan, 25 December 1866).
CD refers to William Stephen Mitchell (see letter from B. J. Sulivan, 25 December 1866 and n. 12).
Oswald Heer was a Swiss palaeobotanist who had published on the flora of the Tertiary period, including the Eocene (Heer 1860).
CD had encouraged his publisher, John Murray, to bring out the fourth edition of Origin with the pages cut (see letter to John Murray, 15 July [1866]). Two letters had already been printed in the Athenæum on the subject (Athenæum, 15 December 1866, p. 803, and 22 December 1866, p. 848). CD’s letter was published in the Athenæum, 5 January 1867, pp. 18–19 (see Correspondence vol. 15, letter to Athenæum, 1 January 1867).


Athenæum. 1844. A few words by way of comment on Miss Martineau’s statement. No. 896 (28 December): 1198–9.

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Heer, Oswald. 1860. Untersuchungen über das Klima und die Vegetationsverhältnisse des Tertiärlandes. Winterthur, Switzerland: Anstalt von Wurster.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


B. J. Sulivan offers fossil leaves from Eocene beds at Bournemouth to CD or JDH. Does JDH want them, or should they go to Oswald Heer?

Has written to Athenæum [see 5308] about publishers cutting pages of their books.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 115: 310, 310b
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5326,” accessed on 8 May 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14