skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   16 October [1866]1

Down Bromley | Kent

Oct 16th.

My dear Sir

Very many thanks for all your kind assistance now completed.

I have written to Mr. Murray to pay Mr. L. Wells when he calls for payment.2 I hope to begin printing in the beginning of next year but I can work only slowly. I need not say that one of the first copies shall be sent to you.3

My dear Sir, | Yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 15 October 1866.
CD refers to John Murray and Luke Wells (see letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 15 October 1866 and nn. 1 and 2).
The reference is to Variation, which was published in January 1868 (Freeman 1977). Tegetmeier’s name appears on CD’s presentation list for Variation (DAR 210.11: 33).


Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Hopes to begin printing Variation at the beginning of next year.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5244,” accessed on 23 June 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14