skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To George Bentham   27 September [1866]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Sep 27

My dear Bentham

I am very much obliged to you for your note & I am sorry that I have troubled you in vain.2 I was anxious to hear of any cases like that of Acorus calamus.3 My memory deceived me for I now recollect the passage, & believe that at the time I did not misunderstand it.

With respect to the Linnean Library, not very long ago I applied for more than two books, but was told that it was against rules. I am sure it wd be of no use my asking Mr Kippist for more books unless he receives instructions, for though nobody can be more obliging & kind than he is, he is rigid to what he considers his duty.4

With many thanks for your note believe me | yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from George Bentham, 25 September 1866.
See letter from George Bentham, 25 September 1866. In a missing portion of his letter to Bentham of [July–September 1866] CD had asked about species of thistle not producing fertile seed.
CD had asked Bentham, who was president of the Linnean Society, whether it would be possible to borrow more than two books at a time from the society’s library (see letter to George Bentham, [July–September 1866], and letter from George Bentham, 25 September 1866). Richard Kippist was the society’s librarian.


His memory deceived him about GB’s statement [on propagation of thistles].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Bentham
Sent from
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Bentham Correspondence, Vol. 3, Daintree–Dyer, 1830–1884, GEB/1/3: ff. 705–6)
Physical description
LS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5220,” accessed on 4 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14