skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   14 September [1866]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Sept. 14th

My dear Sir

I have had much pleasure in signing the enclosed. No one has a better right to be a member of the Zoological Soc. than yourself.2 Many thanks for the blocks, which I think are greatly improved by being cut.3 When I receive the last I will write to Mr Murray about paying for the lot.4

Many thanks for the Field: it is an interesting article, but contains nothing particularly new.— How hydra-headed the error is about the Gallus Sonneratii5

My dear Sir | Yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Your note is dated 12th. but I only got this morning & I am very sorry that I quite forgot it was Friday, but you ought to receive this tomorrow, Saturday)


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 12 September 1866.
Tegetmeier had asked CD to sign a letter of application for membership in the Zoological Society of London (see letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 12 September 1866).
CD’s letter to his publisher, John Murray, regarding payment for the woodcuts for Variation has not been found, but see the letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 16 October [1866].
CD refers to the claim made in a recent issue of the Field that some domestic breeds of fowl were descended from Gallus sonneratii (see letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 12 September 1866 and nn. 5 and 6).


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Blocks for Variation are much improved. WBT deserves membership in Zoological Society.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5212,” accessed on 25 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14