skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From William Lonsdale   15 June 1839

My dear Darwin

Pray accept my best acknowledgements for a copy of your excellent volume; and I hope you will excuse my not having proferred them sooner— I was anxious to make some progress in the work before I thanked you for your kindness. The matter and manner are excellent; the spirit of the reader does not weary, and there are copious stores of information, to meditate upon. The work will afford me a long summer’s instructive reading.

I send a note from Dr. Fitton. A letter on the same subject has been received from Mr. Caldcleugh and the details are generally the same.—1 If you could find leisure I shall be happy to shew you Mr. C’s notice.—

Believe me to be | My dear Darwin | Ever gratefully & Sincerely yrs | Wm. Lonsdale Saturday Evg.

15thJune 1839


Lonsdale probably refers to communications to the Geological Society, of which he was Curator and Librarian. No letter from William Henry Fitton has been found. A letter from Alexander Caldcleugh dated 18 February 1839, which may have arrived from Chile by mid-June, was read at the meeting of 6 November. It contained a translation of an account of a supposed submarine volcanic eruption near the island of Juan Fernandez on 12 February 1839 (Proceedings of the Geological Society 3 (1838–42): 146–7).


Acknowledges Journal of researches.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Lonsdale
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 204: 182
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 521,” accessed on 6 February 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2