skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Henslow   11 June [1866]1

10 Sth Crescent | Bedford Sq | W.C.

11th June.

Dear Mr Darwin

I greatly regret my carelessness in not writing again to tell you, I did not send the books, but have them still.2 The reason was, that when I took my M.S.S. to Hardwicke, he said he would put it in type immediately & send me the proofs in a few days.3 Then I thought, If that was the case, I had better keep the books till the Proof came, in case I might have to refer to them again: I did so, & hoping to get the proof, as he promised I did not write, but it only arrived on Saty. night last!

I am much obliged for your kindness in so readily acceding to my request to look over the sheets which I send enclosed. Please do not hesitate to make any disparaging comments you may think fit; or any suggestion you may deem desirable

I have added a little postscript for your consideration as to whether you would allow me to subjoin.4

I should be obliged by the return of the proof at your earliest convenience as publishers are apt to get rather importunate sometimes!


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from George Henslow, 18 May 1866.
CD had lent Henslow books for an article on Charles Victor Naudin’s research on hybridity (Henslow 1866b). See letter from George Henslow, 18 May 1866 and n. 2.
Robert Hardwicke was the publisher of Popular Science Review. The journal was published quarterly; Henslow’s article appeared in the third issue for 1866.


Sends proofs [of "On hybridization among plants", Pop. Sci. Rev. 5 (1866): 304–13].

Regrets delay in returning CD’s books.

Encourages CD to make "disparaging remarks".

Letter details

Letter no.
George Henslow
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, South Crescent, 10
Source of text
DAR 166: 161
Physical description
AL 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5117,” accessed on 8 March 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14