skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. T. Moggridge   25 May [1866]1

7a. Eastbourne Terr. | Hyde Park | W.

May 25.

Dear Mr. Darwin

I thank you most heartily for your very kind offer of hospitality, & accept for June 23.—2

I have seen quite enough of invalid life to understand the laws of a sick house,3 & I only hope that no ceremony may prevent the issue of the necessary instructions—

—With renewed thanks believe me | very sincerely yours | J. Traherne Moggridge.

CD annotations

Top of letter: ‘Will leave L. at 4o .30 or 5o .— | Sowerby’4 pencil


The year is established by the date of Moggridge’s visit to Down (see n. 2 below).
The letter to Moggridge has not been found. Moggridge arrived at Down on 23 June and departed on 25 June 1866 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
Moggridge spent each winter in Mentone, in the south of France, because of ill health (Gardeners’ Chronicle n.s. 2 (1874): 723).
CD may refer to George Brettingham Sowerby Jr, who had been employed to produce illustrations for Variation (see letter to John Murray, 22 February [1866] and n. 14, and letter to G. B. Sowerby Jr, 19 October [1866]).


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Accepts invitation for 23 June.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Traherne Moggridge
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Eastbourne Terrace, 7a
Source of text
DAR 171: 207
Physical description
1p †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5101,” accessed on 29 September 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14