skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Henslow   12 March 1866

10 South Crescent | Bedford Sq | W.C.

Mch 12/66

My dear Sir,

I beg to thank you very much for your kind offer of a bed, which I shall be very thankful to accept, that I may not be compelled to run away so soon: & I am, indeed, rejoiced to hear you are so much better. I must thank you also for your valuable suggestions & references as to papers on Hybridism.—1

I am busy just now with a course of lectures (4) at Royal Institution, I enclose a Syllabus.—2

If Easter Monday would be convenient to you; (April 2) I shall be very happy to come & see you on that day.—3

Yours very truly | G Henslow.

Very many thanks for the copy of the tendril paper.—4


CD’s letter to Henslow has not been found. Henslow had asked CD for references to works on hybridism for a paper he was writing on Charles Victor Naudin’s research on hybridity, and had suggested that he might visit CD at Easter; see letter from George Henslow, 8 March 1866 and n. 5.
The syllabus has not been found and was not enclosed (see letter from George Henslow, 17 March [1866]). Henslow gave four lectures on structural and systematic botany ‘considered with reference to education & self-instruction’ at the Royal Institution of Great Britain on Saturdays between 3 and 24 March 1866 (Greenaway ed. 1976, 12: 123, 126).
Henslow was a dinner guest at Down on 2 April 1866 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).


‘Climbing plants’: On the movements and habits of climbing plants. By Charles Darwin. [Read 2 February 1865.] Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 9 (1867): 1–118.


Thanks for references for his Naudin–hybridism paper [see 5029].

Letter details

Letter no.
George Henslow
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, South Crescent, 10
Source of text
DAR 166: 154
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5033,” accessed on 21 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14