skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To F. W. Farrar   3 February [1866]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Feb 3.

My dear Sir

I shall have real pleasure in signing your certificate if you can send it to me here, for I have not strength to go to London.2 For the same reason I can be of little use in speaking to other members of the Royal Soc—which otherwise I shd have had much pleasure in doing.

Do not be disappointed if you are not elected this year, for the number of applicants in all branches of science is great; & very many excellent men are not elected the first year.3

With my best wishes for your success | I remain my dear Sir | yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from F. W. Farrar, 5 February 1866.
Farrar had asked CD to sign his certificate as a candidate for fellowship of the Royal Society of London (see letter from F. W. Farrar, 1 February [1866]).
Farrar was one of fifteen new fellows, excluding foreign fellows, elected on 7 June 1866 (Proceedings of the Royal Society of London 15 (1866–7): 189).


Will be pleased to sign FWF’s certificate for the Royal Society if he can send it to CD, who does not have the strength to go to London.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Frederic William Farrar
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Australia (MS 5907)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4995,” accessed on 2 March 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14