skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From E. A. Darwin   [20 November 1865?]1


Dear Charles

John Brent2 is come & I will send it down by Hope or Effie—3 I enclose the address that you may know where it comes from. I hope your journey has been prosperous & that you wont be frightened at coming again4



The year is conjectured on the basis of the publication of J. Brent 1865; the day and month are conjectured on the assumption that the letter was written on the day of CD’s return to Down from London in November 1865 (see nn. 2 and 4, below).
Possibly a reference to Village bells, Lady Gwendoline and other poems, by the novelist and antiquarian John Brent (J. Brent 1865). The book was published between 1 and 15 July 1865 (Publishers’ Circular 1865, p. 369).
Hope Elizabeth and Katherine Euphemia Wedgwood, the daughters of Frances Emma Elizabeth and Hensleigh Wedgwood, made occasional visits to Down.
According to his ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 13, Appendix II), CD ‘staid ten days’ in London with his brother Erasmus, beginning 8 November 1865; however, Emma Darwin recorded in her diary (DAR 242) that she and CD returned to Down on 20 November.


Brent, John. 1865. Village bells, Lady Gwendoline and other poems. London: Hamilton, Adams, and Co.

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 28 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


John Brent [book?] has come, and he will send it.

Hopes CD will visit again.

Letter details

Letter no.
Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 105: B39
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4938,” accessed on 17 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13