skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Frederic William Farrar   11 October [1865]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Wed. Oct 11

Dear Sir

I am very much obliged to you for your kind present of your work on Language.2

No subject in my opinion can be more interesting, & I hope soon to read your book, but I am not sure that I shall be able as my health is at present weak—

From some of your papers which I have read I feel certain that your opinions on all subjects would be most liberal & fair.3

With my best thanks | I remain yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from F. W. Farrar, 6 November 1865.
The reference is to Chapters on language (Farrar 1865). CD’s presentation copy is in the Darwin Library–Down (see Marginalia 1: 226). CD later cited Farrar’s book in Descent 1: 56 n.
CD may be referring to papers by Farrar that appeared in the Transactions of the Ethnological Society of London and the Anthropological Review (Farrar 1864a, 1864b, and 1864c). CD referred to Farrar 1864b in Descent 1: 65 n.


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Farrar, Frederic William. 1865. Chapters on language. London: Longmans, Green, and Co.

Marginalia: Charles Darwin’s marginalia. Edited by Mario A. Di Gregorio with the assistance of Nicholas W. Gill. Vol. 1. New York and London: Garland Publishing. 1990.


Thanks for book on language [Chapters on language (1865)], which he hopes to read soon if his weak health permits.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Frederic William Farrar
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Physical description
LS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4913,” accessed on 18 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13