skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From E. A. Darwin   24 August [1865]1

Hengwrt Dolgelly

24 Aug.

Dear Charles

The enclosed is an allotment of Monmouth shares.2 Jos says they do not belong to Caroline & I therefore presume they belong to Emma,3 but am not able to refer to anything here.

yours affec. E D


The year is established by the address. Hengwrt was a house in the small market and resort town of Dolgelly (now Dolgellau) in north-west Wales, rented for the summer of 1865 by the Hensleigh Wedgwoods (Emma Darwin (1904), 2: 207). Henrietta Emma Darwin and George Howard Darwin had spent some time there in June with some of their Wedgwood cousins (letter from H. E. Darwin to Emma Darwin, DAR 245: 26; this letter should be dated 19 June 1865).
The reference is to shares in the Monmouth Canal and Railway Company.
Erasmus Alvey Darwin refers to Josiah Wedgwood III, to his wife, Caroline Sarah, who was CD’s sister, and to Emma Darwin. Both Emma and CD had owned Monmouth Canal and Railway shares. Emma’s shares were in Erasmus’s name, as he was a trustee, along with Josiah, of Emma’s property (see Correspondence vol. 3, letter to Solicitor?, 1 October 1844). CD acquired further shares in 1847 (see Correspondence vol. 4, letter from Henry Allen Wedgwood, 21 February 1847 and nn. 7 and 9) and in 1852 Emma’s shares were transferred to CD (see Correspondence vol. 5, letter to Josiah Wedgwood III, 20 November 1852 and n. 3). CD recorded the 1852 transfer of Emma’s shares in his Investment book (Down House MS), p. 29. He recorded the payment of dividends on his shares in ibid., pp. 5–8, 72–3. There is no record of any new shares in the Monmouth Canal and Railway company being acquired by Emma or CD in 1865.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 28 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Emma Darwin (1904): Emma Darwin, wife of Charles Darwin. A century of family letters. Edited by Henrietta Litchfield. 2 vols. Cambridge: privately printed by Cambridge University Press. 1904.


Sends an allotment of shares which he presumes are Emma’s.

Letter details

Letter no.
Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 105: B36
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4885,” accessed on 22 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13