skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Bowman   30 July [1865?]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

July 30

My dear Mr Bowman

I am very much obliged for your kind note.2 I will attend to your information whenever I am able to publish my book;3 but I have lately lost many months from continued illness.

I thank you most sincerely for your kindness to my son4 & I had intended writing several months ago to thank for; but put it off from being so unwell until it was too late.

Pray believe me | my dear Mr Bowman | yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is conjectured from the reference to CD’s illness of ‘many months’, and the reference to CD’s book, presumably Variation. See letter to John Murray, 2 June [1865] and n. 1.
This letter has not been found.
William Bowman, a leading ophthalmic surgeon, supplied CD with information about inherited imperfections of the human eye (see Variation 2: 8–10, 79).
It is not known what Bowman’s kindness was, or to which of CD’s sons it was shown.


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Thanks WB for his note, states that it will be taken care of on the publication of CD’s book [Variation].

Mentions loss of many months owing to illness.

Thanks WB for favour to CD’s son.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bowman, 1st baronet
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.301)
Physical description
LS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4878,” accessed on 17 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13