skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Busk   28 April 1865

15 Harley St

April 28 1865

My dear Darwin

Just as I was starting on a short trip to Belgium from which I have but just returned, Hooker wrote to me to ask whether I could suggest the name of any one who might be able to lay down any treatment for your complaint—1 I am very sorry to have delayed so long answering his query & still more so to learn by a note from him yesterday that you are at present suffering a great deal.—

I dont know whether Dr Garrod (84 Harley St) has ever been consulted in your case,2 but if not I think he has had as great experience in gouty affections, if yours should be anything of that kind, as anyone—3 He is a sensible man & I dont know any one more to be recommended for a trial, which I most fervently hope may be of some benefit against your cruel foe—

Believe me | Yours very truly | Geo. Busk


Busk refers to Alfred Baring Garrod. There is no record of CD having consulted him.
In his letter to J. D. Hooker, 7 January [1865], CD mentioned that ‘All Doctors’ thought he was suffering from ‘suppressed gout’. CD added that William Jenner, who had been treating him since March 1864, no longer thought he could help. See also letter to J. D. Hooker, 6 April [1865] and n. 3, and Appendix IV.


Has heard from Hooker that CD is very ill and asking for suggestion of a doctor to consult. Recommends A. B. Garrod as specialist in gouty complaints.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Busk
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Harley St, 15
Source of text
DAR 160: 381
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4820,” accessed on 26 January 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13