skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   12 April [1865]1

12th. April.

Dr Darwin

The Strelitzia & books never went till today.2

My Father is very unwell with Bronchitis & Influenza & we very uneasy about him, he being 7934 3   Last week, after a hard mornings work in the Gardens, he went to the City in the afternoon, to see a nephew4 ill of Typhus. it was the first hot day & knocked him up.

Many thanks for your note.5 Bentham wrote on Planchon   Thomson on subspecies & Greene of Cork on Linn. Trans.6 I shall be curious for your criticisms— I did the Darwinian thing in G. C.—(right for once— exceptions makes rules)7 I can think of nothing else nasty to say & so good bye

Ever Yrs affec | J D Hooker

I am egregiously delighted with your calm judgement on the “Origin”.8 Do you know I have reread some of my papers with the same result & never was wrong once in my opinion


The year is established by the reference to William Jackson Hooker’s age; he was born on 6 July 1785 (DNB).
This nephew has not been identified.
Hooker refers to the authors of three unsigned reviews in the April issue of the Natural History Review: George Bentham, Thomas Thomson, and Joseph Reay Greene. See letter to J. D. Hooker, 10 [April 1865] and n. 7.
Hooker refers to his unsigned leader in the Gardeners’ Chronicle, 25 March 1865, pp. 267–8; see letter to J. D. Hooker, 10 [April 1865] and n. 8.


DNB: Dictionary of national biography. Edited by Leslie Stephen and Sidney Lee. 63 vols. and 2 supplements (6 vols.). London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1885–1912. Dictionary of national biography 1912–90. Edited by H. W. C. Davis et al. 9 vols. London: Oxford University Press. 1927–96.


W. J. Hooker is unwell.

Bentham wrote on Planchon ["The ancient and modern floras of Montpellier", Nat. Hist. Rev. (1865): 202–25],

T. Thomson on subspecies ["Species and subspecies", Nat. Hist. Rev. (1865): 226–42]

and Greene of York on ["The Linnean Society’s transactions", Nat. Hist. Rev. (1865): 189–202].

JDH did the leader in Gardeners’ Chronicle [(1865): 267–8, 291–2].

Delighted with CD’s calm opinion of Origin. Has same view of some of his own papers.

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 102: 17
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4812,” accessed on 26 September 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13