skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   16 [March 1865]



My dear Hooker,

Thanks for your note, & very many thanks about Scott’s paper.1 Give Thomson my best thanks; you & he have relieved me from much doubt, & I have returned Scott his paper with proper advice & explanations.—2 I received a few days ago a letter from him, with a flourishing account of his prospects & full of gratitude. He sends messages to you & Thomson, which I enclose instead of copying.—3

On getting your note I wrote to Mr. Currey about woodcuts & told him I would pay for them.—4

I did so thoroughily enjoy your visit my dear old friend, & it did me no harm.— It was high luck being so well, for I have had no such brilliant days before or since.—5

My life is as uniform as that of a mill-horse; my sole work being the grinding & polishing of badly written sentences.—6 You did not take Heer’s pamphlet,7 & I do not suppose you care to have it sent.—

Farewell | Yours affectly. | C. Darwin


See letter from J. D. Hooker, [10 March 1865]. CD refers to John Scott and to the draft of Scott 1867.
CD refers to Thomas Thomson. See letter from J. D. Hooker, [10 March 1865], and letter from John Scott, 21 July 1865. CD’s letter to Scott has not been found.
The letter from John Scott has not been found.
See letter from J. D. Hooker, [10 March 1865] and nn. 2 and 3. CD’s letter to Frederick Currey has not been found.
Hooker had visited Down House between 4 and 6 March 1865 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)). For CD’s health in early 1865, see letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 27 February [1865] and n. 6.
CD was working on his manuscript of Variation (see CD’s ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 13, Appendix II)).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Heer, Oswald. 1864. Discours prononcé à l’ouverture de la 48e session de la Société Helvétique des Sciences Naturelles. N.p.: n.p. [Reprinted from Bibliothèque Universelle et Revue Suisse (Archives des sciences physiques et naturelles) n.s. 21: 335–69.]

Scott, John. 1867. On the reproductive functional relations of several species and varieties of Verbasca. Journal of the Asiatic Society of Bengal 36 (pt 2): 145–74.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Thanks for Thomson’s and JDH’s views on Scott’s paper. Will send it back with advice and explanations.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 115: 264
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4788,” accessed on 5 December 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13