skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Frederick Ransome   9 March 1865

Rushmere Lodge, | Norwood Lane, S.

March 9/65

My dear Sir—

Pray accept my thanks for so kindly meeting my convenience respecting the payment of the £100 and also for the Cordial expression of congratulation at the encouraging prospects of our Company—1 You may rely upon it the payment to you shall not be delayed longer than I can help—2

I think it would be desireable (if you would not object) to send your bankers a line to say you have heard from me and the matter is arranged between us.—at same time informing them that I have lately changed my residence—

If you should at any time be passing either here or our office (which is

2 Queen St Place

Southwark Bridge3

it would give me very much pleasure to shew you some of our productions.

Believe me My dear Sir. | ever faithfully yours | Fredk. Ransome

Chas. Darwin Esq


The letter to Ransome has not been found. The reference is to the Patent Concrete Stone Company (see n. 3, below). See also letter from Frederick Ransome, 6 March 1865.
Ransome had to ask for a further postponement in the repayment of the loan in 1866 (see Correspondence vol. 14, letter to Frederick Ransome, [before February 6 1866], and letter from Frederick Ransome, 6 February 1866). The last entry relating to Ransome in CD’s Investment book (Down House MS) is dated 4 March 1866.
These were evidently the new premises of the Patent Concrete Stone Company; the company is not listed at this address until 1866 (Post Office London directory 1865–7).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.


Thanks CD for his consideration in meeting his convenience respecting the payment of the £100.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frederick Ransome
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Norwood Lane
Source of text
DAR 99: 22–3
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4781,” accessed on 6 October 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13