skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Daniel Oliver   18 June 1864

18. VI. 1864

My dear Sir

I am very much obliged to you for the photograph.—1 I enclose the reference you request.2 I daresay—if you have not the book—we cd. lend you our copy a few days. It is a 30/- book, with coloured figures of very numerous seeds of Orchids, &c.—

I drew diagrams on Thursday.3 Unfortly. being the last meeting of the Session there was such a crowd of work,—including a Moa paper,4—that yr. very valuable paper was not done justice to at the ‘reading’. No observation or criticism was made after it.

Yours very sincerely | D Oliver


Oliver had requested a photograph of CD after seeing the one that CD had sent to Hooker (see letter from Daniel Oliver, 14 June 1864).
The reference is to Beer 1863 (see letter to Daniel Oliver, 15 June [1864] and n. 5). The enclosure has not been found.
As CD had requested, Oliver drew diagrams to accompany CD’s paper ‘Three forms of Lythrum salicaria’, which was read at the Linnean Society on 16 June 1864 (see letter to Daniel Oliver, [c. 10 June 1864] and n. 3).
See letter to J. D. Hooker, 22 [May 1864] and n. 16. Oliver refers to ‘Notice of a nearly complete skeleton of a Dinornis, presented by Dr. Gibson to the Museum of the Yorkshire Philosophical Society’ (Allis 1864). The moa was an extinct land-bird from New Zealand.


Thanks for photograph.

Letter details

Letter no.
Daniel Oliver
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 173: 28
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4539,” accessed on 17 June 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12