skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Scott   10 June [1864]1


June 10th.


I have just received your letter of yesterday’s date enclosing cheque for £25.2 and I now can only express my sincere thankfulness for your so amply & readily affording me this which is much more than enough for my present requirements.

I will go in at once to Edinburgh and ascertain the 〈ex〉penses of the two routes to 〈In〉dia,3 I will also be careful in limiting my outfit to things really necessary.

You say in your letter that you would have me accept all that you are now giving me as a present. For such a kind act I really do not know how to thank you enough: I can only beg you to excuse me for this, and believe me most sincerely grateful; further that in my succeeding in India as I have now a strong hope from the infl〈uence〉 you have brought to bear upon me, it will be a pleasure for me to return the pecuniary assistance you are now so generously affording me.

I was much pleased to find that you had done me the honour of enclosing your Photograph.4 I have in vain tried to get through the Edinburgh pothographers and I did not like to take the liberty of asking it from you.

with best thanks for all these kindnesses. | I have the honour to remain | Sir | Your obedt. Servant | John Scott


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from John Scott, 8 June 1864.
The letter to Scott has not been found; however, CD’s Account book–cash account (Down House MS) records a gift of £25 to Scott on 10 June 1864. CD had offered to assist in paying the expenses of Scott’s journey to India (see letter from John Scott, 8 June 1864 and n. 4).
Scott was considering whether to travel to India via the Cape of Good Hope or by an overland route (see letter from J. D. Hooker, [4 June 1864], and letter from John Scott, 8 June 1864).
Scott refers to the photograph recently taken by CD’s eldest son, William Erasmus, and reproduced as the frontispiece to this volume. See letter to J. D. Hooker, 10 June [1864].


Thanks CD for £25. Discusses preparations for trip to India.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Scott
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 177: 110
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4527,” accessed on 21 January 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12