skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Emma Darwin to J. D. Hooker   12 March [1864]

Down Bromley | Kent.

Mar 12

Dear Dr Hooker

C. begs me to tell you that he will be very glad to have those marked on the list with a red pencil & those mentioned in your note.1 He wd be very glad to have them marked as to whether they are stove plants or greenhouse plants.2 The address as usual   To the care of the Down postman.

Ch. hopes to be able to write to you soon. He is very much obliged for your last letter.3 He has had a bad fortnight but it is ending in a bad cold which never much signifies with him.4

Poor little Charley. I thought that troublesome complaint was only infectious through a hat or bonnet.5

With my love to Mrs Hooker yours | very sincerely | E. Darwin


The list and Hooker’s note have not been found; however, Hooker had offered to send Norantea in his letter of 9 [March] 1864. CD thanked Hooker for supplying him with many specimens of climbing plants in ‘Climbing plants’, p. 14 n.
The hothouse, accommodating stove-plants, at Down House was completed in February 1863; a greenhouse had been built in the 1850s (see Correspondence vol. 11, Appendix VI).
CD had begun to feel better towards the end of February 1864 (see letter to Asa Gray, 25 February [1864] and n. 2). However, on 27 February 1864, Emma Darwin again began recording sickness on a daily basis in her diary (DAR 242); on 11 March 1864, she wrote ‘cough & cold began’.
Hooker’s son Charles Paget Hooker had contracted ringworm (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 9 [March] 1864 and nn. 26 and 27).


‘Climbing plants’: On the movements and habits of climbing plants. By Charles Darwin. [Read 2 February 1865.] Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 9 (1867): 1–118.

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Request for plants.

CD’s continuing ill health.

Letter details

Letter no.
Emma Wedgwood/Emma Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 115: 223
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4426,” accessed on 13 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12