skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Scott   10 March 1864


March 10th. 1864


I write a single note to say that I have now left the Botanic Gardens of Edinburgh, and at present am residing with my friends.—1

I take the liberty of acquainting you of this change in case you might have occasion to write me, previous to my having ready any matter of interest to you; and so address to the Bot. Gard. as usual.

My address now is




I sincerely trust that your health is still steadily improving; and that as spring again returns you will be sufficiently strong to resume your studies and experiments.

I remain | Sir | Very respectfully | John Scott


Scott offered his reasons for leaving his position as foreman of the propagating department at the Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh, in his letter of 28 March 1864; see also J. W. Kennedy 1908, p. 72. The friends he stayed with in 1864 have not been identified.
Scott was born in Denholm (R. Desmond 1994).


Desmond, Ray. 1994. Dictionary of British and Irish botanists and horticulturists including plant collectors, flower painters and garden designers. New edition, revised with the assistance of Christine Ellwood. London: Taylor & Francis and the Natural History Museum. Bristol, Pa.: Taylor & Francis.


Has left his position at Edinburgh Botanic Garden.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Scott
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 177: 101
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4423,” accessed on 22 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12