skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. B. Innes to Emma Darwin   23 January [1864]1

Milton Brodie | Forres NB

Jan 23rd

Dear Mrs. Darwin,

I am very sorry you should have such an amount of trouble about Johnnys money.2 I fear you must still be plagued to get Parlsow or one of the managers to send us a form properly filled up and we will put the money into the Post office Bank at Forres.3 As the book has been sent the precise sum can be inserted.

We have long been thinking that Mrs. Innes’ sister Mrs. Swan would not live long, as she had heart disease and is in a very weak state.4 It is very melancholy that her husband who was in robust health has died of pleurisy after a few hours’ illness and has left the poor invalide and children.5 You may believe Mrs. Innes is much overcome by this sad event.

She desires her kindest regards to you and Mr. Darwin

Believe me | Dear Mrs Darwin | Yours faithfully | J Brodie Innes

If any less trouble Johnny will give an order of withdrawal simply and a checque for the amt. can be sent to him here— It appears to me the simplest way.


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. B. Innes, 16 January [1864].
John William Brodie Innes, son of John Brodie Innes. The letter from CD has not been found, but see the letter from J. B. Innes, 16 January [1864] and nn. 2–4.
Joseph Parslow was the butler at Down House. Innes also refers to the managers of the Bromley Savings Bank. See letter from J. B. Innes, 16 January [1864] and nn. 3–5, and Horsburgh 1980, p. 303.
Innes refers to his wife, Eliza Mary Brodie Innes; her sister’s poor health was mentioned in the letter from Innes of 29 August [1863] (Correspondence vol. 11).
Mrs Swan’s husband and children have not been further identified.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 26 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Horsburgh, E. L. S. 1980. Bromley, Kent: from the earliest times to the present century, compiled from materials collected from original sources by various hands. Reprint edition. Chislehurst, Kent: Lodgemark Press.


Family affairs.

Mrs Innes’ brother-in-law has died.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Brodie Innes
Emma Wedgwood/Emma Darwin
Sent from
Milton Brodie
Source of text
DAR 167: 4
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4395,” accessed on 19 November 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12