skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To the Geological Society of London1   [c. 28 December 1863]2

George Maw FLS FSA FRHS— VP of The Severn valley Field Club member of The R Agricultural College3 & member of the Council of the British Archæological Association residing at Benthall Hall near Broseley4being desirous of admission into the GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF LONDON, WE, the undersigned, recommend him as a proper person to become a FELLOW thereof.


Charles Darwin6 From Personal | knowledge

W. S. Symonds of Pendock7

J. Gwyn Jeffreys8

Edwd Meryon9

Jos. Prestwich10


Notice of Ballot




The proposal form for George Maw’s election as fellow of the Geological Society was presumably sent by CD at about the same time as the letter from Emma Darwin to George Maw, 28 December 1863. The proposal was formally registered on 6 January 1864, the notice of ballot was given on 20 January, and Maw was elected on 24 February 1864 (Geological Society Archives, F1/6).
The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Emma Darwin to George Maw, 28 December 1863 (see n. 1, above).
In 1860 Maw was elected fellow of the Linnean Society and of the Society of Antiquaries (List of the Linnean Society of London 1860, List of the Society of Antiquaries of London 1861). The document also refers to Maw’s fellowship of the Royal Historical Society and vice-presidency of the Severn Valley Naturalists’ Field Club (see also n. 6, below). Maw was a member of the Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester, Gloucestershire; the college awarded him a diploma with honours in 1852 (Bathurst and Kinch eds. 1898, p. 178).
Broseley was a village in Shropshire, approximately fourteen miles south-east of Shrewsbury (Survey gazetteer of the British Isles).
The date apparently refers to the date of the last signature, and must have been added after CD had signed the fellowship proposal.
See letter from Emma Darwin to George Maw, 28 December 1863. Maw initiated a correspondence with CD in March 1861, and sent CD a presentation copy of his review of Origin in July 1861 ([Maw] 1861). See Correspondence vol. 9, letter to George Maw, 13 July [1861]. See also Correspondence vol. 10, and this volume, letter to George Bentham, 15 April [1863]. In February 1863, Maw had been instrumental in CD’s acceptance of an honorary membership of the Severn Valley Naturalists’ Field Club (see letters from George Maw, 19 February 1863 and 25 February 1863).
William Samuel Symonds. Symonds was rector of Pendock, Worcestershire (DNB). This signature and the signatures which follow (see nn. 8–10, below) were presumably added after CD had signed the fellowship proposal.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

DNB: Dictionary of national biography. Edited by Leslie Stephen and Sidney Lee. 63 vols. and 2 supplements (6 vols.). London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1885–1912. Dictionary of national biography 1912–90. Edited by H. W. C. Davis et al. 9 vols. London: Oxford University Press. 1927–96.

List of the Linnean Society of London. London: [Linnean Society of London]. 1805–1939.

List of the Society of Antiquaries of London: List of the Society of Antiquaries of London. London: Society of Antiquaries of London. 1853–86.

[Maw, George.] 1861. [Review of Origin & other works.] Zoologist 19: 7577–611.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Survey gazetteer of the British Isles: The survey gazetteer of the British Isles including summary of 1951 census. By John Bartholomew. 9th edition. Edinburgh: John Bartholomew & Son at the Geographical Institute.


Recommendation of the admission of George Maw to the fellowship of the Geological Society of London.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Geological Society of London
Sent from
Source of text
Geological Society of London (GSL/F/1/6 No.2179)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4360F,” accessed on 5 February 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11