skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Charlotte Langton   14 November [1838]


Novr 14

My dear Charles

Next to Emma herself you are the person that I feel most wish to write to on this occasion— I thought of putting it off for a few days that it might get to feel a little more settled, a little more certain, & that perhaps to write so soon was not sufficiently keeping up Emma’s dignity in strict etiquette but I trust it cannot be more certain than it is & I shall set aside Emma’s dignity & tell you how truly & warmly I rejoice in this marriage. Nothing else could have happened to give me so much pleasure—it seems as if it was the only thing to wish for. As much as it is possible to rely upon the happiness of any two people I feel a reliance on your’s & Emma’s. I feel strongly tempted to tell you what I think of her, but I will content myself with wishing you joy with all my heart. There is nothing but satisfaction looking on this on every side & I take particular pleasure in thinking of the great regard that has always subsisted between you & my father— I hope wherever you may be that you will be able to make frequent visits at Maer— Emma can be but ill spared there to all, but especially to Elizabeth tho I believe the thoughts of that are very little interruption to her, Elizths present satisfaction. The post is come in & has brought no confirmation of the reality of things which I rather hoped it would tho there was no one particularly that I expected to hear from— I shall be eager for the next letters but what I should most like would be a good sit over the fire at Maer. Charles proposes that I should go & have one, but I do not think of it as I am only just come back. I will direct this to Maer as you were to return there in a few days

Believe me my dear Charles | your’s very affectionately | Charlotte Langton


Expresses her pleasure and satisfaction in CD’s forthcoming marriage.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charlotte Wedgwood/Charlotte Langton
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 204: 169
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 436,” accessed on 21 June 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2