skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [13 November 1863]


My dear Hooker.

A letter from you is always one of my greatest pleasures.—1 I enclose Haast, which I did not suppose you wd. care to see.—2 There was a printed address to the Phil. Soc. of Canterbury published some 6 or 12 months ago by Haast.—3 Was it this you wished to see?

I escaped vomiting yesterday & have felt these 2 days better. Dr. Brinton tells me that a little head-work not bad.4 Dr Gully writes again this morning to do nothing for 6 months.5 I presume I must observe & judge for self.— I am glad to hear about Willy.—6 Do not, my dear friend, write when much overworked. | C. D.

Of course use any & all Haast’s facts7

Who reviewed Lyell in Edinburgh in July last??? I inferred it was a real geologist, but one at least 100 years old.8 over

I daresay you have no other tendril-bearing plants.—9 over


Following the interest Hooker had expressed in the letter from Julius von Haast of 21 July [– 7? August] 1863 (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 11 November 1863), CD may have decided to also send the letter from Julius von Haast of 6 August 1863, or the map and report that CD mentioned in the postscript to his letter to J. D. Hooker of 10 [November 1863].
CD refers to J. F. J. von Haast 1862a. There is a copy in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection–CUL.
Emma Darwin wrote in her diary (DAR 242) ‘good’ for 12 November and ‘fine day’ for 13 November; she also wrote that CD had been visited by William Brinton on 3 November 1863.
The letter from James Manby Gully, who had treated CD at his Great Malvern hydropathic establishment in 1849, has not been found.
Hooker had asked CD if he could use the information Haast included in his letter of 21 July [– 7? August] 1863 (see letter from J. D. Hooker to Emma Darwin, 11 November 1863 and n. 4.
CD refers to the review of Antiquity of man (C. Lyell 1863a) in the Edinburgh Review ([J. D. Forbes] 1863); the author of the review was James David Forbes (Wellesley Index).
In July, Hooker sent CD some tendril-bearing plants from the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, for his research (see letter from J. D. Hooker, [31 July 1863] and n. 2, and letter to J. D. Hooker, 3 August [1863]).


[Forbes, James David.] 1863. [Review of Charles Lyell’s Antiquity of man and other works.] Edinburgh Review 118: 254–302.


Sends Haast’s report; JDH may use any and all of the details in the letter.

Asks identity of a reviewer of Lyell’s Antiquity of man [Edinburgh Rev. 118 (1863): 254–302].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 115: 209
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4341,” accessed on 2 March 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11