skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Price   [8 September – 13 October 1863]1

Malvern. Wells


Dear Price,

I have been ill, & am very weak. I do read your numbers—& last night I read Heureka.2

It seems to me as good as, perhaps better, than, the other articles.—

I am astonished at your vivid recollection of old times.3

I wonder you do not give us more about the wilder parts of North Wales, which I admire with the fervour of a Welchman.4

I sincerely wish you all success & that you may improve & please many readers—

I can write no more.—

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin.


The date range is established by the reference to Price 1863–4, and by CD’s address. According to Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242), CD stayed in Malvern Wells, Worcestershire, from 3 September to 12 or 13 October 1863; the first Tuesday after his arrival was 8 September.
The reference is to Price’s miscellaneous work, Old Price’s remains (Price 1863–4), published in monthly parts between April 1863 and March 1864. CD refers to a humorous article in the number for September 1863, entitled ‘E’UPHKA, E’UPHKA!’ (Eureka, eureka!) (ibid., pp. 277–82). CD’s copy of the work is in the Darwin Library–CUL.
Price was a childhood friend of CD’s; they were at Shrewsbury School together (see Correspondence vol. 1).
Shropshire, of which CD’s home town Shrewsbury is the county town, borders on north Wales, and CD made several trips there as a boy (see Correspondence vol. 1 , ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 11, Appendix I)); he continued to visit Wales while he was at Cambridge and afterwards (see Correspondence vol. 2, ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 11, Appendix II)).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Price, John. 1863–4. Old Price’s remains; præhumous, or during life. 12 pts. London: Virtue, Brothers & Co.


Comments on JP’s work [Old Price’s remains (1863–4)].

Anglo-American relations. Progress of the Civil War.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Price
Sent from
Malvern Wells
Source of text
DAR 147: 273
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4286,” accessed on 28 July 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11